(Abstract of paper presented at the meeting of the Netherlands Zoological Society. Leiden. May 19. 1980) The tropical islands of the Lesser Antilles are situated along the north coast of the South American continent, enclosing the Caribbean Sea from the island of Trinidad north to the Greater Antilles. Their area varies from 4800 km: (Trinidad) to 13 kmJ(Saba). most of them having an area of 200-1500 km: (Grenada – Guadeloupe). The Dutch Leeward Islands (Aruba. Curasao, Bonaire) and the Windward Islands in the north of the range have a dry climate, the remaining a moderately wet climate. Many islands are mountainous and of volcanic origin.